Uncategorized

Identify Yourself

In this age of technology and the vulnerability of the internet, the need to protect our electronic identity from being stolen is more crucial than ever. Four or five decades ago, who would have dreamed that a person could be hijacked, while at the same time never leaving the comfort of their own home.

Nevertheless, everything that identifies us in our electronic profile can be taken and misused. Even our photograph on social media, copied and used to misrepresent who we are.

How do I identify myself? I’ll admit, for years, I have compared myself to the image set by society, trying to find value in myself according to that standard and always coming up short. I never have, and I don’t believe I ever will attain that goal.

With age comes the realization that trying to be who and what I am not will only lead to more years of discontentment.

When I strip away this middle-aged, imperfect shell of a body, my titles of wife, mother and grandmother, where I live, the car I drive, and even where I go to church, what is left is the real me. Although striped down I can see all my personal flaws and weaknesses, it also reveals my strengths. The person who God saw long before I was conceived, knowing everything about me, every good and bad decision I would make. How I would choose to turn away from Him at times and do what pleased me instead. Sometimes, I would really like to know what He was thinking!

Yet, He looked at me and thought I was valuable enough to be given life.

Psalm 139:13-18  For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.
How precious to me are your thoughts, God! How vast is the sum of them!
Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you.

He also knew that He would have my heart, that I would fall in love with His Son, Jesus Christ and whole-heartedly need to lean on Him as I walk through this life.

No matter how this world defines me, whether it’s by how I look, what I do, or my station in life, and even if at times I’m still looking for those answers myself, it cannot change my true identity. Which is who God says that I am.

100_2418

6 thoughts on “Identify Yourself”

  1. “LIKE”
    It’s soooo hard to live this life positively when we are in comstant comparison to everyone else we see on social media. I agree, instead of trying to conform to what I think he world requires me to look like and be like, I should only look to who I am supposed to be, who God created me to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was 37 years old, had my fourth baby, when 3 months later, I went into congestive heart failure. The doctor told me I could make it 2-10 years. But, not any farther, as my heart was doubled in size in all 4 chambers. I had “post-partem cardiomyopathy”. That was 1987. I remember the feeling ‘having been stripped naked, standing before God. I felt like nothing and no body. I was completely in God’s hands. Life was over, soon I wouldn’t exist. I realized whatever I would be would be up to Him. Overwhelmed with fear. That is when I lost my identity. I was whoever God was to make of me. I had to learn who I was all over again. I wasn’t what ever others wanted me to be. It didn’t matter any more. I had to learn who I was in my life and with God. Life is not to be taken for granted, and neither ‘who we are’! Thanks Robin for these awesome words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

