Home Life

My Little Bit of Earth

After being in our home for a little over 3 years now, we are finally making the landscaping suitable for enjoying. Privacy fencing, brick-edged lawn, and a white pergola. 

I adore anything vintage, weathered and worn, with time-earned character, especially if it also contains a bit of history. So, many of the things I’ve collected over the years finally have an audience and make my cozy backyard a place I want to be. 

The white-metal, vintage table and chairs, which has been waiting patiently in the basement, now has a lovely home on the patio where it can be appreciated. The old black and silver-plated wood stove I’ve kept for the last 20+ years can finally come out of hiding. And the rusty old milkcan anchors it all and makes all the surroundings look like they’ve been here forever. 

Clematis blooms under the pergola are making a show of themselves at the moment, inviting me to sit down and take a rest. 

It’s not a perfect oasis yet, for there are plenty of those pesky weeds fighting to survive. But they still pale in comparison to the little showcases of beauty here and there. 

Today I’ve been busy today adding more plant life. Hostas, succulents, day lilies and more. I really have to keep a reign on myself lest I lose control and fall victim to the planting fever!

One of the things I love about our piece of property in the city, it that it is small and manageable, an important feature for future circumstances, namely, when I’m too old to bend over!

Each time I dig a hole for a new plant, I can’t help but think about my Mother. She is the one who instilled in me the inclination to want to grow things. All those times she would send us kids out to pull weeds, or to help plant the tomatoes and onions, or help to harvest the bounty, left a desire in me to carry on the examples she left for me. 

Most of all, it makes me stop and think of the Creator of all this botanical beauty. Full of wisdom, design and intricacy it is! Each flower on that clematis vine is as perfect and pristine as the others, the aroma of the thyme in the planter box speaks of earth’s savory goodness. If you stop and think about it, that dirt you hold in your hand? That very bit of earth has been here since God spoke it into existence!

Laying out a garden is like painting a picture with God’s paint pallet for the medium and the rich earth as the canvas. Colors, textures, aromas, grand enough to create a masterpiece that feeds the eyes, the nose and our very souls! There is a soothing comfort in it which no man-made invention can boast of.

‭‭”Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you the truth, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.”  Luke 12:27

Leave a Reply

