family

The Day I Became a Grandma

My journey to Grandma-hood was filled with three unforgettable experiences:

  • When I found out my daughter was pregnant
  • Watching her grow into a mommy
  • And the day I saw my granddaughter for the first time

My daughter and I shared a close relationship. As my daughter grew into a young woman, the idea of becoming a grandma someday brought a smile to my heart. So when she came home from church one day and announced she had just met the man she was going to marry, I knew that day was not too far into the future.

My husband and I thought it would nice for our daughter and her fiancé to wait at least a couple of years before having children, to enjoy their time as a couple, having the freedom to be spontaneous in whatever they chose to do, because we had really enjoyed that in our first years together. However, they were both anxious to begin their new family and we supported that as well.

I was sitting in church a few months after the wedding, listening to the sermon, when my daughter quietly came in and sat next to me. She scribbled something onto a piece of paper and handed it to me.

It said, “I’m pregnant“!

It caught me completely off guard, but my excitement could hardly be contained! I hugged her and motioned for her to follow me into the back hallway of the church. There, I jumped up and down and squealed, no longer able to contain my joy!

I could not deny that I was completely ready to be a grandma. Now all I had to do was wait those long months to see my grand baby!

I, myself, always enjoyed being pregnant. Going through the physical changes, the preparations, and anticipating the births of my babies brought me a lot of joy. So I lived my daughter’s pregnancy vicariously. Every month I took a ‘belly picture’. How fun it was to see her tummy grow and grow! I proudly posted the pictures on MySpace for all to see?

Wait….did I just say MySpace? Oh my, this was a long time ago!

It seemed that the pregnancy would go on and on and by the 8th month, my daughter was certainly ready to be done! The due date came and went with no sign of impending labor. I had been mentally prepared for the last month, just waiting for that phone call in the middle of the night saying ‘it’s time!’ But no….

Almost 2 weeks later, she was finally admitted into the hospital to have this baby. I was excited and honored to be able to witness my granddaughter’s arrival. Because I know that childbirth can be unpredictable, I was also a little apprehensive. No mother wants to see her child suffer, and I knew there was nothing I could do to prevent the travail my daughter would experience that day.

When labor intensified during the last phase, there were a few scary moments that made my heart sink. When the baby’s heart rate dropped, I sat down and called out to my Lord Jesus in prayer. Even the doctor stood close by to monitor the progress so I knew it could quickly become an emergency situation, and I braced myself for whatever was ahead.

At the same time, I watched with pride as my daughter pressed on through the labor. She had doubted whether she would be able to manage it, but she was amazing, and though she was ready to give up towards the end, she found the courage she needed. And I know she felt very proud of herself in the end. I too, had a new admiration for her that day.

Thankfully, the baby’s heart rate did improve, and finally, the time came for her to be born. I positioned myself at Melinda’s side, equipped with two digital cameras and a camcorder. It was my job to capture this moment in pictures. I gave words of encouragement and had to keep reminding myself to JUST BREATHE!

As the baby’s little head emerged, excitement filled my heart. Within moments, it was over and my beautiful granddaughter was here! Tears! Lots and lots of tears!

image2

I suddenly remembered, I was supposed to be taking pictures! But my eyes were so filled with tears, and through my sobs and in my overwhelming joy, I couldn’t seem to figure out how to operate the camera! When I finally pulled myself together, I couldn’t take my eyes off little Kasaya.

Her eyes never left her mommy’s face, imprinting it in her heart. She carefully examined the face of the one she knew had loved her and nurtured her to life. It was an incredibly intimate moment to be able to share with them.

Witnessing the birth of my first grandchild was one of the most profound experiences of my life. Since her arrival 9 years ago, I’ve had the privilege of welcoming 3 happy, energetic grandsons as they made their grand entrance into our lives.

I can’t imagine any greater moment than kissing a new grand baby on the head for the first time.

2 thoughts on “The Day I Became a Grandma”

Leave a Reply

