family, Home Life

Uncle Bob

When I was a little girl, there was a very special man in my life.img_2366
My Uncle Bob.

Oh, he was a tall, handsome, funny, and loving man. He always made me feel so special, even when I became an adult. I think he made all of my siblings feel special, too.

He was a secure male role-model for us, the father-figure we all needed at that time.
He never yelled at us, always loved it when my Mother would take us to their little house for a visit. They never made us feel like we were a bother and we were always welcomed.
In fact, he and his family helped my Mom many times, as she single-handedly worked to raise her children with little income, sometimes bringing groceries or big boxes of apples or oranges at Christmas time.
Whenever we went over and I had a splinter, he would give me a whole quarter so that I would let him take it out. A quarter doesn’t sound like much, but at that time, you could load up on the penny candy at the store!

My sister Shelby recently confessed that when she knew we were going to Uncle Bob’s house, she would run her fingers over the wooden porch rails, trying to get a sliver. Sometimes it would work!

 

He would engage my sister Gwen in a game of checkers, using quarters as the game pieces, and somehow she always ‘won’.

img_2352
And every now and then he would bring out the favorite toy. It was a wind-up Mickey Mouse that would play the xylophone, turning side to side, bending up and down, while arms alternated in motion. The most interesting and mechanical toy I had ever seen!

 

 

 

 

But what I loved most about going to his house were the music jams.

He would get on the old organ or piano, Aunt Mary would sit at the drums, and whoever else played an instrument would join in. The children were always encouraged to be part of the music. We gathered around, sitting on the floor, and played maracas, the triangle, the tambourine, and other percussion instruments.

The songs ranged from old traditional hymns, to fun old-time ones like “There’s a Hole in the Bottom of the Sea”. If you’ve never heard it, here’s a link. Be forewarned, it will probably be stuck in your head for the rest of the day, but it’s a fun song!

There were big band favorites like ‘In the Mood’. Uncle Bob loved playing that one and would just let it go on the organ or piano. And my cousin Marilyn was always requested to sing “Teddy Bear”.

It wasn’t just the music that we loved, it was the special time of gathering together with family and finding joy even when times were hard.

When I asked some of my family to reminisce about the days at Uncle Bob’s house, there was one thing that stood out the most to all of us.

We felt loved.

19 thoughts on “Uncle Bob”

  1. Robin, I love that you wrote about Uncle Bob. He was one of the sweetest men I ever knew and I am grateful for the times he got to come to Arkansas for visits. This is such a sweet blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello there,
    What a beautiful memory and retelling of life with your uncle. To feel loved like that is such a beautiful thing… to have mattered and been seen… I’m really happy for you.
    Thank you for sharing your uncle with us all to enjoy,
    Di 💐🌟🌟

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a beautiful tribute to your Uncle. It made me think back on family gatherings at my great-grandparents. Toward the evening my dad and a few of his uncles would pull out their guitars and start playing, and people would join in singing with the songs they knew.
    It’s funny that you also mentioned remembering a toy. My great-grandmother had this monkey that would clang cymbals together. It was scary and yet fascinating at the same time.
    Thank you for sharing this beautiful story. It’s wonderful when you have people who made you feel loved. 🙂 -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

