Faith, family, Uncategorized

Provision of Love

Provision of Love

If you are a dog lover or have a furry, four-legged friend like I do, you know their appetite is insatiable.

It doesn’t matter if they’ve finished off an entire dish of dog food, if you offer them a morsel, they will take it. They would love nothing more than to snack on people food all day long.

I’ve gotten into the habit of saving a tiny bite of my dinner for them, which they don’t get until I’m finished. Bubba will sit nearby watching me, never taking his eyes off of me, occasionally uttering an ever-so-quiet ‘whomph’, just in case I’ve forgotten that he is there.

Chloe, on the other hand, will lay on the couch, half-sleeping, acting like she isn’t paying attention, but her eyes aren’t completely closed. She is waiting patiently, not expending any unnecessary energy like Bubba does. But as soon as I make the anticipated move to offer the snack, she is there in a split second! img_2464

Their little faces are filled with such joy and anticipation! They have to sit still before I give it to them, but their muscles are twitching with delight.

My husband accuses me of spoiling our little ones. (Says the one the dogs pester every single morning until they get the doggie treat he tucks inside his shirt pocket!) What?! How can he look in their little, deep, black eyes and think they are spoiled? They are just so cute! Oh well, I tell him that’s why they love me more.

They give me such love and devotion, how can I withhold such joy from my little ones?

How much more will my Heavenly Father lavish on me! Because I am His child. And I give Him my devotion and look towards Him with delight and adoration, not because of what He gives me, but because of His love for me, and my love for Him.

“Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. For life is more than food, and the body more than clothes.

Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds!

 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?”

“Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.

 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you—you of little faith!

 And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them.

But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well. Luke 12:22-31

“Consider the Lilies” written by Joel Hemphill-1977, sung by Heartstrings

(This is a video from a concert my sisters and I did several years ago. I hope it blesses you!)

(Photos- Robin Abrams, A Song In My Heart)”Consider the Lilies” sung by Heartstrings

via Daily Prompt: Snack

Leave a Reply

