Living Life, Uncategorized

Unraveling Stress

This post is a little different from most of the others I’ve written. But hopefully, will be worth sharing. Life can be worrisome and stressful and we all need a little extra help from time to time, right?

This is a mental exercise on how I unravel a stressful day.

Many years ago, I came up with my own technique for stress management, which sometimes helps me to release at least some of the worry when it all piles up and becomes overwhelming. I am no professional counselor and cannot say that this will help every situation or person, but I want to share this with whoever might find it helpful.

(If I am alone, I’ll do this aloud. Sometimes the best thing to do is get all those negative words that keep replaying in your mind out. I find that speaking them brings relief.)

I often have lively prayer and praise time with the Lord while I’m driving by myself in the car. It’s a great place to pray, sing and just talk and cry it out!

thinking
From time to time, I will have a day that wears heavy on my mind and soul. Not regarding any one stand-out situation, but I just find that I’m mentally weary and tired, and I will realize that I’m stressing about stuff.

I will ask myself, “Ok, why am I so stressed out today?”

I will go through a mental checklist, identifying and separating each circumstance that is causing me to stress. Then I will talk myself through each one.

~Is there anything I can do to remedy or solve this? (with God’s guidance)

~Do I need to make a phone call, take an action, or do I need to talk to someone?

~Is it something I need to do that I’ve been avoiding?

If there’s something I can do to resolve it, then it takes that item off the table so to speak. I can make a plan to take care of it.
However, if I find that it is a situation which I have no control over, and there’s nothing I can do to fix it, I will pray about it and leave it in the Lord’s hands. Maybe the solution is the responsibility of someone else. It is their choice to make, not mine.

I can still be concerned, especially if it has to do with a loved one. After all, the situation doesn’t magically disappear, but by putting it into perspective, as far as my ability to change it, I find the heaviness is at the very least lessened.

It is scientifically proven that stress brings with it unhealthy physical and mental effects. I have found that this method of examining the collective causes of my stress helps bring relief and lightens my weariness.

Oh My Soul – Casting Crowns

I leave you with this:

pexels-photo-256632

“When thou liest down, thou shalt not be afraid: yea, thou shalt lie down, and thy sleep shall be sweet.” Proverbs 3:24

 

 

Leave a Reply

