Faith, family, Home Life, Uncategorized

The Perfect Gift For All

img_4150

If you are following the re-posting of my 4 part “Homespun Christmas” series, here is the link to Part 3, in which I share more precious memories of Christmas pasts. Thank you very much for all your support for these stories. I love writing them, and it blesses me so much that you enjoy reading them.

A Homespun Christmas Part 3

In all honesty, my mind is having a difficult time this year fully embracing the usual ‘holly jolly’ spirit of the season. I see the beautiful decorations and lights, the store isles lined with gift ideas and wrapping paper of all colors and patterns. My eyes are seeing everything that defines ‘Christmas’ to the world, but the excitement of the season is elusive thus far.

I don’t mean to put a damper on anyone’s holiday cheer, truly. Don’t get me wrong, I have always loved Christmas time, and still do. I love holiday baking, family get togethers and the songs of the season. I remember many, many Christmases that were full of all the elation and anticipation of the season and I know there will be many more of those to come.

This year, however, my thoughts are drawn to more than ornaments and gifts. I think of things that will never be found cleverly arranged on a store shelf, displayed with a price tag.
img_3702

Things like true and lasting “peace and goodwill“, which calms the hearts of men who are bent on self-destruction. This precious gift you won’t find in Santa’s sack of presents, for it begins far above any visible realm our earthly eyes can see. This kind of peace and goodwill originates from the very heart of God, which beats with the purest love for man.

He sent that perfect love to earth in the form of the a babe, His only Son, Jesus Christ. His gift to man…. the Savior of the world. The perfect gift.

“Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel.” Isaiah 7:14

 

 

Leave a comment