family, Uncategorized

The Most Cherished Mother

How…. how do I keep my heart from tearing into a million pieces?….how do I take her pain and bear it for her?…how do I make these moments resemble those ‘golden years’ which sound so wonderful and poignant, yet more and more I wonder if they ever existed at all.

These are my Mother’s last days, the number of which I do not know, but that I pray pass quickly, only because I can’t bare to watch her suffering.

This is the precious Mother whom I have lovingly written about before, THE one and only. If you search the archives of this blog, you will find these precious and treasured stories.

Soon to be 90 years old, her body grows more weary with each passing day. So my family and I are at her side, doing whatever we can to ease these last miles of her journey, cherishing each little moment we get to spend with her on this earth. Being together brings us comfort and we feel God’s presence.

As I think back on her life and look at old photos of her vibrant, youthful years, it makes me even more grateful that this woman was chosen to be my Mother. I know without a doubt that every one of her children share this same sentiment…her biological children, her adopted children, and every foster child who passed through her home.

How many people actually get to live out their dreams? I can say, my Mom did. As a young woman, she desired to help children in need, and that’s exactly what she did for over 40 years.

That’s not to say that life was smooth sailing along that journey. Indeed, life dealt many hard, unkind blows her way. Many people would have hardened their outer shells and even their hearts in an effort to endure the hardships. But I can truly say that my Mother has remained kind and sweet. She could have returned the hurt that was heartlessly inflicted upon her, and if you knew that story you would agree that she had every reason to. But that’s not who this remarkable woman is.

These days are surreal. I know that these earthly bodies are not created to last forever, and there is a time for each of us to move on. God knows the length of our days, just as He knows how much longer I will be able to look into my Mother’s face. A very beautiful face I must add.

I can only pray that my children love me the way I love my Mother. The most beautiful and cherished Mother.

4 thoughts on “The Most Cherished Mother”

Leave a comment